Quantcast

Celebrate the Arts!

Best Bets for the Fall Arts Season

This “hot sheet” of upcoming cultural events in the greater Seattle area is only a sampling of notable arts events, courtesy of VisitSeattle.com, Seattle’s official visitor center. VisitSeattle.com’s calendar of events is updated weekly and includes a wide variety of festivals, exhibitions and special programs. This list also includes season highlights for Northwest Prime Time’s arts advertisers.

On Stage/On View Now & upcoming September:

• Black Box Theatre at Edmonds Community College – Teaching/ Learning/Community through Concerts, Lectures, Performance and More. 425-640-1448, blackboxedcc.org.

• Pearl Jam: Home and Away, MoPOP, ongoing, www.mopop.org

• A Dragon Lives Here: Do You Know Bruce? Part 4, ongoing, Wing Luke Museum, www.wingluke.org

• Apollo, Museum of Flight, ongoing, www.museumofflight.org

• Double Exposure: Edward S. Curtis, Marianne Nicolson, Tracy Rector, Will Wilson, SAM, through Sept 9, www.seattleartmuseum.org

• Village Theatre 2018-2019 Season “The Noteworthy Life of Howard Barnes” Sept 13-Nov 18; “Matilda: The Musical” Nov 8-Feb 3; “I Do! I Do” a musical about marriage Jan 17-Mar 24; “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time” Mar 14-May 19; “Million Dollar Quartet” May 9-July 28; Subscribe Today – 5 shows for the price of 4! Issaquah 425-392-2202, Everett 425257-8600, villagetheatre.org.

• The Brink: Demian DinéYazhi´, Henry Art Gallery, through September 9, www.henryart.org

• Chateau Ste Michelle Summer Concert Series, through September 15, www.ste-michelle.com

• Northern Exposure: Contemporary Nordic Arts Revealed, Nordic Museum, through Sept 16, www.nordicmuseum.org

• Living Art of Bonsai: Elements of Design, Pacific Bonsai Museum, through Sept 30, http://pacificbonsaimuseum.org/

• Everyday Black, Northwest African American Museum, through September 30, www.naamnw.org

• Make/Do: A History of Creative Reuse, Washington State History Museum, through December 6, www.washingtonhistory.org

• Beyond the Frame: To Be Native, through December, various venues, www.beyondtheframe.org

• Marvel: Universe of Super Heroes. MoPOP, through January 6, 2019, www.mopop.org

• Native Portraiture: Power and Perception, Tacoma Art Museum, through February 10, 2019, www.tacomaartmuseum.org

• Lore Reimagined: Shadows of Our Ancestors, Wing Luke Museum, through April 14, 2019, www.wingluke.org

• WWI America, Museum of History & Industry, September 1-February 10, 2019, www.mohai.org

• Seattle Design Festival, September 6–21, https://designinpublic.org/

• INTIMAN presents Native Gardens, Jones Playhouse, September 6-30, http://www.intiman.org/nativegardens/

• Skylight, ACT Theatre, September 7-30, www.acttheatre.org

• Cirque du Soleil presents Volta, Marymoor Park, September 7-November 4 www.cirquedusoleil.com/usa/seattle/volta/ buy-tickets

• Waitress, Paramount Theatre, September 11-16, www.stgpresents.org, https://seattle.broadway.com/

• Fremont Oktoberfest, Fremont neighborhood, September 21-23, www.fremontoktoberfest.com

• Jerome Robbins Festival, Pacific Northwest Ballet, McCaw Hall, September 21-29, www.pnb.org

• Morlot Conducts Ravel, Seattle Symphony, Benaroya Hall, September 2729, www.seattlesymphony.org

• Lake Union Wooden Boat Festival, September 29 & 30, Center for Wooden Boats, http://cwb.org/events/festival/

• Washington State (Puyallup) Fair, Washington State Fair Events Center, August 31-September 23, www.thefair.com

Beginning in October:

• Seattle Repertory Theatre 20182019 Season: “A Thousand Splendid Suns” Oct-Nov 10; “A People’s History” Oct 17- Nov 25; “In the Heights” Nov 23-Dec 30; “Last of the Boys” Jan 18-Feb 10; “The Woman in Black” Feb 22-Mar 24; “A Doll’s House, Part 2” Mar 15-Apr 28; “Nina Simone: Four Women” Apr 26-June 2; “Tiny Beautiful Things” May 17-June 23; Subscribe for full season! 206-443-2222, seattlerep.org.

Editor's Picks